Sweet and Manly…

Two more cards for you ladies!  One very very feminine and sweet, it is for my mom’s birthday next month.  The other one for my dad on Father’s day!

sweetwishes_blogI had fun putting this one together, it did come out a bit different than was I was thinking, but I do like it.  I did change my mind a lot and learn something new.  Did you know that you can sand away Distress inks?  Well, I DIDN’T!!!!  I thought after it was on it was on… and you could make it look not so vibrant (at least some colors) by adding water, but if you add too much water then your paper warps… you get the idea.  Well I used my Brushed Corduroy color on this card using the applicator, well… I didn’t like it, it went from a happy card to a not so happy card… so I decided to try to sand away some color and it WORKED!!!!  I had embossed the cardstock before inking, so I did get some of the ink but just enough and I like it!

sweetwishes

And a little close-up of the cute cupcake!

sweetwishes_cu1

Challenges:

Recipe:

  • Pattern Paper : American Crafts, Basic Grey
  • Stamps : Inkspirational, Inque Boutique, Inkadinkado
  • Inks : Brushed Corduroy Distress ink, Artprint Brown Memories, Vivid Bermuda
  • Ribbon : Martha Stewart
  • Embosser : Fiskars
  • Other : Silver Beads and Baubbles from Ms.

separatordad_blog

Some neat textures in this card.  I am not really good at masculine cards, so I am very happy with this one.  For the white texture I used gesso w/ a piece of scrap cardstock to drag it around really really thin.

dad

Challenges:

Recipe:

  •  Cardstock : Unknown (they are pretty old from my stash)
  • Stamps : Stampin’ Up! (really old too, for some reason I can only find this stamp from the entire set)
  • Ink : Memories Artprint Brown
  • Embosser : Cuttlebug Embossing Plate from Crop Stop
  • Other : MM metal photo holder, Gesso, MM eyelets
11 thoughts on “Sweet and Manly…

  1. Gorgeous cards! I like your style and your previous cards to! 🙂 Thanks for the tip about sanding, didn’t know that worked either, will try it out!! 🙂 Thanks for playing with us at CCC this week 🙂

    Hugs Ida

  2. Of course I remember scrappin’! LOL
    And what recipes?
    The font is QK Moxie – the large one. They actually make this one (Or they did) in two different sizes. I think it’s my favorite!

Leave a Reply

