Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies / Galletas de Azucar con queso crema

Hi ladies!

I am baking cookies and since I am not too crazy w/ the sugar cookies I decided that I was going to start this year researching sugar cookies recipe.  Here in US the norm is you leave sugar cookies for Santa…. so the search began and I found this recipe… I am a cream cheese fanatic.  You spread cream cheese to something I’ll EAT it.  So we tried it and OMG… this is the best sugar cookie recipe I have tasted EVER!!!  So I wanted to share it w/ you ladies. It is easy, it seems like a long list of ingredients but it is easy to make.  I’ll tell you, that I found it to be too soft of a batter to make shaped cookies so I just rolled balls and flatten them w/ my fingers.  I may have left the dough mix too much since I was dealing w/ the dogs and Bianca and the cookies all at the same time.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of butter or margarine softened
  • 1 pkg (3oz) cream cheese softened
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • colored sugar or decorating icing if desired

STEPS:

  1. In large bowl, beat all ingredients except flour and colored sugar until light and fluffy.  Add flour; mix well.  Shape dough into 3 disks. Wrap dough in plastic wrap; refrigerate 1 hr for easier handling.
  2. Heat oven to 375F.  On floured work surface, roll out 1 disk of dough at a time to 1/8 inch thickness.  (Keep remaining dough refrigerated.)  Cut with lightly floured 2 1/2 inch round or desired shape cookie cutters.  Place 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets.  Decorate w/ colored sugar.
  3. Bake 6 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheets.  If desired, frost and decorate plain cookies.

TAKEN from the Pillsbury Holiday Baking book.  It has some awesome recipes!

3 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies / Galletas de Azucar con queso crema

Leave a Reply

