Creating your own duplicate die cuts

The following is a tutorial I did for SNS’ blog!  I am re-posting it here so I can translate it!

El siguiente tutorial fue uno que colge en el blog de SNS.  Estoy colgandolo aqui para poder traducirlo.

Hi everyone!  

I was in a pickle the other day when I noticed I wanted to use some Fancy Pants wing die cuts but I wanted them to be both left wings (you know two wings exactly the same, not a pair of wings).  Check out the layout so you can see what I mean, you always get a left wing and a right wing and I needed two left wings for this photo.  So I though, I have enough scraps from the papers to create my own wing… a little duplicate wing.  So below are the steps to create a duplicate of a die cut in this case a little Fancy Pants wing.

Hola a todas!
El otro dia tuve un problema cuando estaba haciendo esta pagina.  Yo queria utilizar los die cuts de Fancy Pants en forma de alas pero queria que las dos alas fueran identicas.  Las paginas de die cuts como las de Fancy Pants usualmente tienen una ala izquierda y una derecha, bueno yo necesitaba 2 alas izquierdas.  Asi que decidi hacer mi propia ala con algunos de los retazos de papel de Fancy Pants que me quedaban. 

innocence

wingtutorial

  1. Select the die cut you want to duplicate and the paper you want to use.  Trace the shape w/ a pencil into the selected paper.  I used one of the scraps of Fancy Pants paper so the new wing would look like it was part of the die cut paper.  NOTE: if you have already used the die cut you want but you still have the die cut paper it came in, you could use that as your template to trace around.
    Selecciona el die cut que quieres copiar y el papel que utilizaras.  Traza la forma utilizando un lapiz.  Yo use retazos de Fancy Pants para que pareciere que la ala era parte de la pagina de die cuts que ellos venden.  NOTA: si ya utilizastes la forma que quieres copiar, utiliza el papel donde el die cut vino y traza la forma de ahi. 
  2. Make sure you traced it w/ the shadows where you wanted them to be in your die cut.  Cut out the shape.  I like to cut them a little bit smaller than the traced shape so I don’t have to erase the pencil.  You could also trace it on the back of the paper (flipping the figure) but in this case my other side was too busy and I wasn’t able to see the line I traced.
    Asegurate que cuando trazastes la forma la sombra del papel esta donde la quieres en la forma.  Corta la forma, a mi me gusta cortarla un poco mas chica que la marca de lapiz asi no me tengo que preocupar en borrar la linea.  Tambien podrias trazarla en el lado opuesto del papel (rotando la imagen) pero en mi caso el papel era muy obscuro y no veia mi marca.
  3. After you cut it out (isn’t it pretty) sand it out.
    Despues que lo cortes (esta lindo, verdad?) lija los bordes. 
  4. Add glitter w/ a little bit of glue or use stickles (I specially like the Frosted Lace Stickles).
    Ponle brillo con un poco de pega y brillo o usando Stickles (a  mi me encanta el Frosted Lace Stickles). 

innocence_cu3

Then just add them to your LO and I do like to add more Stickles somewhere on the LO just to tie things together and of course some ribbon is a MUST.  On this layout I used the Zany Zinnia November Kit – Oh, Happy Day. 
Cuando esten listos solo colocalos en tu pagina, a mi me gusta poner un poco mas de brillo para que la pagina se vea mas uniforme.  Coloca unas cintas aqui utilize la del kit que hace SNS para Zany Zinnia “Oh, Happy Day. 

innocence_cu1

One thought on “Creating your own duplicate die cuts

Leave a Reply

